The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: Learning, Teaching, Assessment, abbreviated in English as CEFR or CEF or CEFRL, is a guideline used to describe achievements of learners of foreign languages across Europe and, increasingly, in other countries. The CEFR is also intended to make it easier for educational institutions and employers to evaluate the language qualifications of candidates for education admission or employment. Its main aim is to provide a method of learning, teaching, and assessing that applies to all languages in Europe.

It was put together by the Council of Europe as the main part of the project “Language Learning for European Citizenship” between 1989 and 1996. In November 2001, a European Union Council Resolution recommended using the CEFR to set up systems of validation of language ability. The six reference levels (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2) are becoming widely accepted as the European standard for grading an individual’s language proficiency.

Italian Language A1
Italian Language A1.1 33%
Italian Language A1.2 66%
Italian Language A1.3 100%
Italian Language A2
Italian Language A2.1 33%
Italian Language A2.2 66%
Italian Language A2.3 100%
Italian Language B1
Italian Language B1.1 33%
Italian Language B1.2 66%
Italian Language B1.3 100%